First Ski recommendations?

• MCImes
  • Visitor
9 years 5 months ago #22125 by MCImes
First Ski recommendations? was created by MCImes
Hey all,
I've been lurking on the boards for a few months now after I had one of the funnest paddles of my life in a V10 double. It looks likely that Ill be moving from the Midwest (US) to the east coast, which really lit a fire under my butt to get a ski!

I race canoes up here and would like to race skis once Im out in Connecticut. I have very little double blade experience, so my form isnt awesome and I dont know what I dont know, but I pick up on things very quickly, so I'm fine with a boat that is beyond my current abilities, just not too far beyond (no v14's in my near future). My palette of skis is relatively limited, but Ill pass along my thoughts from the few that I have paddled and maybe you wise folks can set me straight.

So far, I've been able to briefly demo most of the Epic line in flat conditions. Here are my thoughts on them:
V8: super stable. I feel like this isnt 'enough boat' for me. I want something faster.

V10: (old style) Tippy, but I can stay upright. I feel there wouldnt be much of a learning curve to master this boat's stability. Since the new style is supposed to have more secondary stability, I have even greater faith in my ability to quickly become comfortable in this boat.

V12:Very tippy. I dumped 3 times in a short paddle, but was able to get back on and make it back ok. I feel like this would take me a full year of very wet paddling, but I could do it. I think part of it was due to me thinking about how to control the rudder and not having my attention 100% on paddling and staying upright. Also, Im not the greatest with the rudder and when I hit it I wasnt ready to compensate for the side force that it creates.

V10 double: I paddled this with an experienced skier. We were surfing 2'-4' waves and only dumped 1 time in a 2 hour paddle. Stability was fine.