Cape Town downwind

More
9 years 5 months ago #22164 by Lance
Cape Town downwind was created by Lance
Hi, I have recently moved to the Cape from Durban. I have been paddling for about 18 months on a Carbonology Cruze and have never done a downwind. I am really keen to start.
I just don't know where to start in terms of who would "teach" me the ropes, who to paddle with etc.
I would really appreciate any input.
Thanks
Lance

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 5 months ago #22174 by [email protected]
Where in Cape Town are you based? If you're anywhere near fish Hoek I'd strongly recommend contacting the Mockes' surfski school.

Rob

Currently Fenn Swordfish S, Epic V10 Double.
Previously: Think Evo II, Carbonology Zest, Fenn Swordfish, Epic V10, Fenn Elite, Red7 Surf70 Pro, Epic V10 Sport, Genius Blu, Kayak Centre Zeplin, Fenn Mako6, Custom Kayaks ICON, Brian's Kayaks Molokai, Brian's Kayaks Wedge and several others...

More
9 years 5 months ago #22178 by [email protected]
Hi Lance,

In the northern suburbs, you could get hold of the Wednesday evening Downwind Dash guys.

Downwind Dash on Facebook

Near Hout Bay you could come down to the Tuesday Series (season just started). Many of us started racing in the short course (great vibe, meet people and drink beer at the club afterwards).

Tuesday Series Website

Anywhere near Fish Hoek, contact surfski school. There's a big social paddling group who do Millers Runs in a safe and relaxed way...

Surfski School website

And finally, if you're out Strand way, you could get hold of the guys at the Strand Surf Lifesaving Club - there's a big group of paddlers there too.

Strand Surf Lifesaving on Facebook

So there you go - see you on the water!

Rob

Currently Fenn Swordfish S, Epic V10 Double.