dead leg remedies

More
6 years 8 months ago #29146 by sandysan
dead leg remedies was created by sandysan
I will preface this by saying that I have what I consider to be wide feet. On the foot plate for my boat, it's a pretty tight squeeze. After about 3d minutes the pins and needles start in my left foot. By 45 minutes it's totally asleep.

I read the forums and some people have suggested using a seat pad. I got the Mocke one and it does make the seat more comfortable, but it seems to impair my rotation and it doesn't help with my foot. My right foot seems fine. Any suggestions? I might move the footboard but I like the geometry of the foot drive as it is. Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 8 months ago #29147 by LakeMan
Replied by LakeMan on topic dead leg remedies
I'm not a doctor nor do I play one on TV but I am no stranger to foot and leg numbness. For me it's almost always a nerve pinch in my lower back that causes sciatica down one or both legs. It may not be your feet that's causing the problem. I get sciatica even when my back feels fine. If you have access to an inversion table try using it daily to see if it helps. Could also be the back of your ski bucket (not the bottom where most people put the pad) that is causing a pinch. Have you tried paddling with the straps completely disconnected so your feet are free? That would narrow down some options.

I guess the best thing to do is experiment with different options. And of course there's the dreaded foot transplant but that's a bit extreme.

"Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts." - Winston Churchill

More
6 years 8 months ago #29148 by Ranga
Replied by Ranga on topic dead leg remedies
So when you wear shoes you have the same problem? Surly shoes restrict your feet much more than any footplate so I doubt that would be the cause.