electronic muscle stimulators

More
12 years 7 months ago #7765 by candela
Neck and shoulder pain relief question...

I suffer neck and shoulder pain mainly due to the type of work I do. I'm a computer animator so I spend all day using a mouse and a tablet. I paddle 3-4 days a week and gym 2 days a week. When I'm not working on weekends the pain subsides but returns mid next week, and the cycle continues. I've been to physios and I know where the pain comes from and no matter how ergonomic I make my work area I still suffer to a certain level.

Anyway my question is has anyone had any experience with electronic muscle stimulators for pain relief instead of taking pain killers like Advil. The guy that delivers my morning coffee swears by them for RSI relief.

Anyone tried them?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 7 months ago #7766 by AR_convert
I bought a TENS machine off eBay for around $160 Aus and used it for my neck and shoulder until my Physio identified poor posture at my C6 vertebrae (needed to pull my chin back so weight of head wasn't forward when sitting/paddling/cycling). The TENS runs on a 9 volt battery and is a great piece of equipment. I now use it for other muscle soreness and love it. You have to experiment with settings and pad placement but in short, yes they do help with pain relief!

Always looking for the next boat :)

More
12 years 7 months ago #7768 by Rightarmbad
I used one to desensitise my nerves in my foot due to a lisfranc injury.
It was quite effective.

Follow the path of the independent thinker. Expose your ideas to the dangers of controversy. Speak your mind and fear less the label of 'crackpot' than the stigma of conformity. And on issues that are important to you, stand up and be counted at any cost.--- Thomas J. Watson

More
12 years 7 months ago #7769 by candela
Thanks guys.

Hey AR what brand did you buy? I was looking at the Hidow which are about $200AU new.

More