Nelo Ocean Ski for flat water: beginner

More
8 years 2 months ago #25679 by SurfskiEstonia
Hello, guys :)

I've been an avid reader of this forum and finally have decided to ask for Your opinion.

I am planning to buy a Nelo Ocean Ski L to paddle it purely on flat water. It seems that there is general agreement that this is a very good ski for that (the seating position and height, the narrow catch). This choice comes also from the opportunity to buy a nearly new boat at half the price.

What makes it tricky, is the fact that I am a complete beginner :unsure:

I am 30 years old, 183 cm (6 feet), 86 kg (190 pounds), about 15% body fat. I started kayaking in June 2015 to learn to surf breaking waves on the beach, using whitewater and slalom kayaks. By now I have a decent eskimo roll and can brace in the break with confidence. I usually paddled about 5-6 times a week, when the water was above 10*C, so one may say I have a lot of enthusiasm. I've also been out on a couple of autumn/winter surf sessions with more proficient paddlers and can imagine what is going on.

As stormy weather does not come along too often in summer, I decided to try K1 sprint. I tried paddling an old (1980's, very stable) German K1 some 5 times with constant bracing and swims, yet was able to paddle it with some success for some straights (with the seat in). It was truly a great sensation to feel that freedom and comfort of the sitting position. At the same time the fact that a beginner would be tied to the launching area because of the risk of swimming and the need to empty the kayak, put me off the idea to buy a K1.