v8 vs bluefin for stability

More
9 years 3 months ago #22910 by paulrj
Gday ive been kayaking for about 4 years and want to get into a surf ski for river and ocean,, been thinking about a v8 or bluefin,, which of these would be more stable but also fast..
thanx for reading
pj

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 3 months ago #22915 by topswimmer
Hi paulrj
had a V8 for about 8 months as a 1st surfski. I had virtually no kayak/ski experience & found it to be very stable even in the surf zone. On the flat i could get it upto 10km/h at a push.It's a great boat to build your technique but not so good for your balance as it's just so stable. i only say this because i really struggled with balance when i moved up to an intermediate ski.
A paddling buddy of mine has a bluefinn its slightly narrower by 2cm,slightly lighter & a tad faster.On the downside it has no deck bungees or the carry handles & bailer of the V8.
Which ever you go for i'm sure you'll have a blast!!
The following user(s) said Thank You: paulrj

More
9 years 3 months ago - 9 years 3 months ago #22916 by Simon Haywood
Whilst you're are looking - Try either Stellar S18S or SR - I've had two V8 ultra (both models) the S18S is a better all rounder and has some bonus features too - check the video thread you'll see it in action - In Australia...the Stellar will give you a better bang for your buck too

Previous craft: Affinity, Endorfinn, Multisport, Epic V8, V10sport, V10, V12, Fenn Swordfish, Spirit PRS Elite; Stellar S18S, SR, SE, SEL, S2E, S2EL

Current Skis:
Huki S1-R
Stellar S18S - Excel
Stellar SR - Ultra

Skis on order: None!
Last edit: 9 years 3 months ago by Simon Haywood.

More
9 years 3 months ago #22919 by CoastPop
Bluefin - if your criteria is stability AND speed.

More
9 years 3 months ago #22921 by Stew
Replied by Stew on topic v8 vs bluefin for stability