First surf ski advice

More
8 years 2 months ago #25609 by newtoit
Looking around I have tried to find other threads about this topic but its individual as to whats best for who and where. Buying a surf ski mid winter is not ideal, but theres no better incentive for not swimming as freezing water.

First I am located Vancouver Island, Canada. my nearest rental place for a surfski is over a 2 hour drive away so I cant really get enough time on any surf ski to know what I would like. Reading articles only goes so far but makes me think an epic V10 sport would be best. Money is an issue so it will be a used boat. I have had troubles finding used boats with it being winter, allthough I have found a used 8 year old Epic V10 for a fair price within a days drive. So I guess the question is would that be a boat as a beginner I would be able to handle and grow into for ability or holding off to find something a little easier.

To learn it would all be close to shore ocean for the many swims I would be doing. Eventually I would like to do some paddles around 10 km or so when the ability has that being done safely. I am 5'11" at 185 pounds and would be doing this for exercise.

Also the V10 I have found being that it is 8 years old I am curious as to what to look for in it or what has changed with them in the last 8 years.

I appreciate any advice the wise people of this board can offer a new guy trying to get into the market.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 2 months ago #25613 by Sinkme
Replied by Sinkme on topic First surf ski advice