How stable is the Vajda Orca?

• Ole
  • Visitor
10 years 1 month ago #19789 by Ole
How stable is the Vajda Orca? was created by Ole
Hi,
I am trying to find out how stable the Vajda Orca (normal glass layup version) is, say compared to Epic, Think or Fenn skies.
Could someone help?

Thanks,
Ole

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• JeandeFlorette
  • Visitor
10 years 1 month ago #19792 by JeandeFlorette
Replied by JeandeFlorette on topic How stable is the Vajda Orca?
I have been paddling a Vajda Orca for the last 3 years and have tried it in various conditions including 25-30 knot winds and 2.5m swell. This is a craft that I am comfortable in even when the shit hits the fan. It is not the fastest craft that I have paddled but it chugs along no matter what! I have done my best time in the Bridge to Beach in that craft when the swell was hitting the 3m+ between the Heads! I have paddled into a 3m+ southerly and not fallen off once. Crafts that I compare it with are the Fenn Mako6, Think Uno Max, Epic V10... none of which have lasted long in my stable as I had difficulties in big conditions as a mid pack paddler. The shape of the hull is such that it rises quickly when a wave hits the craft, surfs well, and is forgiving when you get carried away.

Check for soft spots... not sure about the longevity of that this construction! I have had my fare share of those and the boat builder and I are good buddies...

I still hang on to it as I like the hull shape as I like conditions that sort boys from men and I would not hesitate to choose this one over others.

Jean

• Ole
  • Visitor
10 years 1 month ago #19803 by Ole
Replied by Ole on topic How stable is the Vajda Orca?
Thanks for the comprehensive answer, Jean.

I heard about the variations in quality which is now my main concern.

Maybe I rather look for another ski, just sold a DD3 which was great, maybe I should come back to DD3.

Best,
Ole

• Ole
  • Visitor
9 years 10 months ago #20512 by Ole