Leg Motion in a Ski

More
9 years 10 months ago #20876 by dannyboy
Leg Motion in a Ski was created by dannyboy
So i'm new to all this. picked up a used Fenn XT. Pretty comfortable except for a few swims.

I have had the footboard adjusted so i can fit one fist between back of knee and the bucket.

I know I am pushing on the footboard and using my core not just arms. I see virtually no movement of my knees.

In this video:

Szolt seems to be pumping his knees up and down. i do not see how this can be done in a ski unless he has a swivel type seat.

I wear lycra biking shorts and they are slippery in the ski but try as i might I cannot get leg motion like Szolt does (or others in videos i watch)

Must I get a pumping motion of the knees to have proper form?

I have tried to shorten and lengthen the footboard but my knees just do what Szolt's do.

What am I missing. Or is he incredibly flexible at the hip joints?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 10 months ago #20878 by Fuyang Guy
Replied by Fuyang Guy on topic Leg Motion in a Ski
Hi Danny,

I am no Guru, but there are a couple of things you could try.
1. Actually moving your footboard further away, You will not have the fist's gap, but may actually be in a better position, as A short guy, the fist Gap is not achievable for me, and I find I get better leg drive with lower knees.
2. Try putting a pair of board shorts on over your lycras, not a permanent solution, but it should definitely improve your ability to slide, if this was the issue.
3. Tighten your footstrap and pull with the opposite leg to the one you are driving with.
4. Focus on moving your hips, not your knees. They will follow.
5. Improving your flexibility will help most aspects of your paddling.
6. Do stroke drills, where you break the stroke down into components and train one component at a time, 1 side at a time. (this is Oscar's approach)