Advanced Surf Ski for a beginner

More
7 years 3 months ago #27804 by LakeMan
First let me say thank you to all of you on this forum for your invaluable information on skis. Trying to learn about them has been a fun adventure and you've all made it more enjoyable.

I've been sea kayaking for 3 decades so I'm no beginner to the sport. However I have only been on one ski and that was a demo day on the Atlantic. I fell in love with them right there and this was at least twenty years ago. The boats have come a long way since then. I am in the hunt for my first one now.

My question and comment is this... why the push for beginners to get "beginner" skis? Is it to sell more boats? Is it because people will give up if it's too challenging? If a man wants a corvette we don't say "buy a Miata first until you get used to sports cars" or if someone wants to take up tennis we don't say "go to Walmart and get a $30 racket until you learn the sport and then get a Wilson Hammer". Yet we do it with kayaks. I say buy the best you can afford and learn to use it. Are the higher-end skis tippy? Heck yes. But so was learning to ride a bicycle when I was five. We learn, we adjust. What happened to having some backbone?

These are my thoughts. I'm looking for something thin and fast. No beginner crafts for me. There are a lot more but I don't want to bore you any further.

"Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts." - Winston Churchill

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 3 months ago #27815 by [email protected]
Hey LakeMan

Yep, we used see many people buy skis that were too advanced for them; they'd get frustrated and give up.

Conventional wisdom is that for many people it's better to get something that you can get to grips with fairly quickly, have fun and develop paddling technique, then trade up to a more "advanced" ski.