Flatwater Performance Potential of Epic V7

More
6 years 8 months ago #29552 by TheJRM
Hello everyone,

I'm brand new to the forum and to the sport. I've had an interest in surfski for a while now and finally took the plunge a few weeks ago and purchased an Epic V7. I come from a non-paddling background, so besides a little sea kayaking (a handful of sessions, all close to shore, < 5 miles per session) here and there over the years, I have very little experience or frame of reference when it comes to the paddling sports. That being said, I do have a lengthy background as an endurance athlete (runner, cyclist and triathlete) and competed successfully as a pro/elite for a number of years as a triathlete.

I've been exceptionally happy with the V7 and am absolutely loving the boat and the sport. As a former competitor, I never enjoyed the sea kayaks I paddled as I found them to be too slow. I've been having a BLAST cruising around in the V7 and also feel MUCH safer on it vs. a SIK. I'm a teacher, so I've been getting out almost daily these past few weeks thanks to summer vacation. We also live just 80 meters from the ocean, so I can paddle whenever I'd like to :)

I happen to live right on the Blackburn Challenge race course. My goal is to participate in it next year, along with some other local surfski events. I'm getting more and more comfortable in the boat and am focusing all of my efforts on laying an aerobic foundation while concurrently working on my stroke, balance, etc. I've already seen some nice progress, but would love to get a better idea as to what I can/should expect out of my boat from a performance perspective.