Single hand sliding up paddle

More
6 years 5 months ago #30202 by Zarb
Hello,

I'm just getting into paddling again and noticed something with my hand position on the paddle.

After several strokes, one of my hands will slowly start creeping up towards the center of the shaft. It will only be one of my hands, the other one stays where it is.

Is it an imbalance issue? Am I gripping correctly?
The following user(s) said Thank You: SurfskiEstonia

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 5 months ago - 6 years 5 months ago #30203 by AR_convert
Easy way to stop it is use tape to set the limits of where you want your hands to move.
Get some electrical insulation tape and wrap around and around itself until it is a couple of mm thick.

It is not to put your hand over, but to create a raised section that you can feel with either your forefinger/thumb (innermost on paddle) or your little linger (outermost) to know you are not moving. Do this either side of where you want your hand to stay, then without looking you'll know your hands are in the right place and when bracing on downwinds this can also save your hand from slipping down the shaft.

Always looking for the next boat :)
Last edit: 6 years 5 months ago by AR_convert.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Hiro

More
6 years 5 months ago #30210 by WingSuit
Can tell you from experience that it could be to an asymmetric paddle stroke, doing something a little different with the “slippery” hand. Try a GoPro or Motionize, or have someone video/observe you.

More
6 years 5 months ago #30214 by gstamer
The good news is that Ivan Lawler, in his excellent forward stroke masterclass (
) says that hands slipping downwards is a sign of good technique. Hands slipping outwards, is not.

I sometimes have this issue as well, especially with my left hand, so I need to stay aware and correct as necessary.