New to surfski- Sore butt, Lots of questions

More
6 years 18 hours ago #31120 by d0uglass
Hi All,

I've been racing standup paddleboards for a few years. Recently a lot of my racer buddies have been buying sit-down paddlecraft like OC1s and Surfskis. I got on the bandwagon this weekend when I bought a used Epic v12 (the older fiberglass model with a black-tipped nose) for real cheap. Another friend gave me a paddle. I'm not sure the specs on the paddle, but it's a legit carbon surfski paddle with the scooped out blades that look like rabbit ears... just a bit dinged up.

Anyway, I've paddled it twice and I can tell I have a lot to learn. The balance is really tough, of course, but I'm actually doing OK. First session I had to flop in and out of it for about 15 minutes before it clicked and I could paddle it for minutes at a time without flipping. Second session I didn't pick up where I left off. Still had to flop in and out for 5 or 10 minutes before the balance clicked, but then I was able to paddle about 6 kph with just a few flips.

Here are some of the problems I'm having that I want advice on:

#1- My butt is killing me. Just south of the crack and north of the hole, where a two-knobbed bone of some kind is near the surface of my skin, I've got two bloody red welts. I'm not sure what the best strategy is to avoid that happening, or if a callous will develop eventually, or what.

#2- I have a sense that my stroke is shit, and I'm not sure where to go for the most extreme basic, slow-motion, simplified instructions for paddling. I have a pretty good SUP stroke, in which the shaft is totally vertical and the stroke is parallel to the boat, but it seems totally different with the two-bladed paddle where the shaft is less vertical and the stroke that sweeps away from the boat instead of staying parallel with it. Don't have any idea about what the entry or exit should look like, which joints should be bent at what times, or anything.