Single or double?

• SteveW
  • Visitor
5 years 11 months ago #31393 by SteveW
Single or double? was created by SteveW
I have been paddling a Fenn Blue Fin S for a few months now and loving it.
Last weekend my wife had a try on the Blue Fin and was very successful. She did a few ins and outs at Fish Hoek and thoroughly enjoyed herself. Now she also wants a ski.

The question is:
Should I get another Blue Fin or go one step further with a Fenn XTS double? I am inclined towards another Blue Fin and then later on when she has built up some experience, try renting a double to try and then buying one.

I am also thinking that being on a double would give her more confidence and in that way encourage her to try downwinding.

Any pearls of wisdom from the forumites? :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 11 months ago #31394 by kwolfe
Replied by kwolfe on topic Single or double?
I would think about getting 2 skis in the beginning. Doubles are great however if she decides she doesn't like it, I would think the resale would be more difficult.

Also, I would prefer to see the other person when paddling instead of having them behind me all the time.

• SteveW
  • Visitor
5 years 11 months ago #31395 by SteveW
Replied by SteveW on topic Single or double?
This is what I am thinking. The only downside is then having to buy the double later on as well as the single now. I will end up with 5 boats, not that you can have too many. The storage will also become an issue. Got to love this surfski malarkey. :)

More
5 years 11 months ago - 5 years 11 months ago #31399 by zachhandler
Replied by zachhandler on topic Single or double?