Epic Paddle Sizing Help

More
5 years 9 months ago #32114 by Demonic
Hey guys,
I realize this is a surfski forum but it seems to have some of the most active discussions on Epic-related stuff, so I'm posting here. I'm new to kayaking and just purchased a used 2014 Epic 18X since the seller was literally down the street, price was good, and I couldn't help being drawn to the boat. I live on a beach cove on Cape Cod and will be using the boat for day touring and fitness. The seller also had an Epic full carbon mid wing paddle, burgundy shaft. He let me try out the paddle with the boat when we went out on the water together, but I'm not experienced enough to 'feel' what the right size paddle is for me. Based on what I've read, the small-mid sized wing would be more appropriate for me. I'm 5'10, 155lbs, slim with broad shoulders, and inexperienced. He offered the paddle to me for $250. My question is even though I believe I'd be better suited for the small-mid, is the difference in non-racing touring conditions for an inexperienced paddler enough that I should find a small-mid, or should I just grab his mid wing and not over think it?

Thanks,
Austin

P.s. I know someone is bound to ask for the sake of my safety if I've gotten any training. Prior to buying the kayak I took a self-rescue and assisted-rescue day course with the local kayak shop in a 17' Eddyline, and the seller, who used to race competitively, is the head of the local kayaking group and said he'll go out with me several times to help build up my skill set.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 9 months ago #32115 by Steve Hansen
Spend $50.00 more and get the Epic Small Mid Wing Club Carbon model. This would be the appropriate size and a softer shaft flex. I'm thinking 205-215cm would be the right length for your height.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Demonic

More
5 years 9 months ago #32116 by Demonic
Replied by Demonic on topic Epic Paddle Sizing Help