Feeling of falling back in V8

More
5 years 7 months ago - 5 years 7 months ago #32563 by BumpHound
Hi surfskiers,

I am new to surfski and have an Epic V8. I am 6'2 170 lbs and I am digging the boat and paddling. I love the speed over OC1 and SUP! The boat feels stable and manageable enough.

But...I am feel like i am fighting to keep my upper body from falling back. It is almost like the boat is doing a very subtle wheelie and I am fighting (think sit-ups) to keep my shoulders over my ass. I have adjusted my foot brace in small increments from very little knee bend to two fists under my knees (I settled in the middle for the moment) and have added a 1 cm pad under my bum to see if that would help. Still struggling with this.

Any thoughts?
Last edit: 5 years 7 months ago by [email protected].

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 7 months ago #32565 by leolinha
I paddle a V8 since 2014 and I never experienced this. On the contrary, I have to fight my natural tendency to leaning forward too much... So I guess this is a personal thing, nothing to do with the boat.

Current: Epic V8 PRO, Think Evo 3
Past: Epic V8, Epic V10 Sport

More
5 years 7 months ago #32566 by zachhandler
The surfski body position takes a lot more hamstring flexibility than sup or OC. It also requires more strenght in the hip flexors to hold that position. It takes some time for your body to adapt. I live where water is frozen half the year. Every spring it takes me about a month in the ski before I can get my body position forward and over the stroke where it needs to be. In that first month I struggle with that tipped back feeling. Canoing by comparison i can do right after ice out with no difficulty.

Current Skis: Epic v10 g3, NK 670 double, NK exrcize, Kai Wa’a Vega, Carbonology Feather, Think Jet, Knysna Sonic X
Former Skis: Epic V12 g2, Epic V12 g1, Epic v10 double, Nelo 550 g2, Fenn Elite S, Custom Kayaks Synergy

More