Best Fitness Watch for Paddling?

More
4 years 8 months ago #34650 by Gage
Hello Everyone!

I have recently been looking at Sports Watches for Paddling and I have noticed there is not very much information regarding this (un)essential item. So, I thought I would start a thread for Sports Watches that was a little more current. I ended up purchasing a second hand Garmin Fenix 3 as they have come down to about $200 AUD. I then noticed there were no built in apps for paddling and I have had to much about with installing a 3rd party app for this purpose. 

I really want some basic info like realtime speed, Heart Rate and GPS information for my Youtube Clips and as a beginner I don't want to invest too heavily as I have spend a ton of money on my new found hobby already :-)

Has anyone got some more up to date information they would like to share with the community?

What's the Best Sports Watch/ GPS for paddling?

James Gage

James Gage

Epic V7
Stellar SR Gen 2

Visit my Youtube Channel to see my Paddle Journey
www.youtube.com/channel/UCfairb1ym574SYY...Q?view_as=subscriber

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 8 months ago #34651 by feeny
Try a Suunto Ambit3 (can pick one up for cheap), it is reasonably programmable and can pair easily with both a heart rate monitor and a vaaka cadence sensor to record/display distance per stroke.

More
4 years 8 months ago #34652 by Watto
Gage you have already spent good money on a ski, paddle, pfd and paddling kit - now don't throw bad money after good! Get the best watch you can afford and don't sweat the dollars. Honestly you will forever be consulting this item for so many things. Wait and save if you have to, it will be worth it!

More
4 years 8 months ago #34654 by mrcharly
requirements for a paddling watch
  • GPS