Complete newbie questions... Help!

More
4 years 1 month ago #36055 by MarkRP88
Firstly, thank you all for the knowledge and tips you guys give. For a complete newbie it's been amazingly helpful reading through the forums. 
So, I caught the bug recently and bought an old fenn xt and wing paddle to learn on. I'm loving the new challenge and the near vertical learning curve. I've paddled it only four times in flat water, I'm surprised how fast a ski can go : even when a learner is in control. I have a few questions that I need help with please. 
1. Feathering. I get it and have been experimenting. What is meant by feathering right or feathering left? 

2. Paddle length. Again I'm experimenting here. I'm 5'10" with long arms so have tried 210cm and variations. The longer the paddle the more rotation in the upper body, however, my balance is still off so rotation can affect my stability. Should I go with a shorter length whilst I'm learning?

3. Ive been working on driving my leg down and hips back through the stroke. I'm pushing from my heal but still have an issue with stamping on the pedals and changing the rudder, so I'm all over the place. Couple that with imbalances in the stroke and I'm having a difficult time keeping the boat straight. How do I overcome this? 

4. What is the one critical piece of advice you would give to yourself if you could go back to the 3rd or 4th time you paddled? What fundamental would you focus on. 

I am a true newbie to paddling, never even sat in a kayak. The old thing I've done is SUP. I'm going OK, fallen out 5 or 6 times but this has lead me to perfecting getting back on the ski. 

Thanks in advance guys 

Current: Fenn XT

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 1 month ago #36056 by [email protected]
Hey Mark

Feathering. I get it and have been experimenting. What is meant by feathering right or feathering left?