Advice for newbie

More
15 years 3 weeks ago #3008 by duke916
Advice for newbie was created by duke916
Hi All,

Firstly any advice is useful as i'm completely new to the surf ski scene. I've recently purchased a Honcho Guevara and am learning from scratch alone as i'm in Mozambique, however the water is not too bad and relatively shallow where i'm learning, but i still have a lot to learn! Obviously i spend a fair amount of time 'falling off' but this i expected and it is certainly helping me practice the remount more and more which i think is really important for me. However my main point is that when i've been out for a couple of hours or so and head back into the shore i have to remove the rubber bung and drain a large amount of water from inside the hull! Maybe i'm missing something, but i didn't think water (to this amount) would be able to get inside as it's sealed.... Please help...

Marty

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 years 3 weeks ago - 15 years 3 weeks ago #3009 by Hiro
Replied by Hiro on topic Re:Advice for newbie
duke916 wrote:

rn...i have to remove the rubber bung and drain a large amount of water...
Marty

Remove it and blow gently some air with your mouth inside the hull, if your ski is watertight then it should keep the pressure, if your ski is not watertight find where the air escapes... and get it fixed.
Last edit: 15 years 3 weeks ago by Hiro.

More
15 years 3 weeks ago - 15 years 3 weeks ago #3010 by matgill
Replied by matgill on topic Re:Advice for newbie
Hi,

Sorry no advice on your problem, just to say that I'm paddling on an epic v10s in Mozambique. I'm based in clube maritimo in Maputo. Where are you? If you're around here we can meet somewhere.

cheers

Matteo
Last edit: 15 years 3 weeks ago by matgill.

• StuartXpat
  • Visitor
15 years 3 weeks ago #3011 by StuartXpat
Replied by StuartXpat on topic Re:Advice for newbie