Which race distance for first race?

More
4 years 1 month ago #35927 by ADL2020
Hello!
I'm a beginner surfskiier (Carbonology Cruze) who is training for my first race that is taking place 3/8.  I'm not sure which distance to enter...the 5k or 10k.  Any advice from more experienced paddlers?
Thank you! 

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 1 month ago #35928 by [email protected]
The important thing is to do something you're going to enjoy.

If you've been doing 10km paddles, then, sure, go for it.  But if conditions are rough or it's longer than you're used to or there's anything that's likely to get you out of your comfort zone, do the short race. 

Whether you do the short or long race, there will be people slower than you and faster than you and you'll most likely end up racing against the guy who's next to you at the time.

For many of my first races, the challenge was just completing the race - and it felt great.

Have fun!

Rob

Currently Fenn Swordfish S, Epic V10 Double.
Previously: Think Evo II, Carbonology Zest, Fenn Swordfish, Epic V10, Fenn Elite, Red7 Surf70 Pro, Epic V10 Sport, Genius Blu, Kayak Centre Zeplin, Fenn Mako6, Custom Kayaks ICON, Brian's Kayaks Molokai, Brian's Kayaks Wedge and several others...

• MCImes
  • Visitor
4 years 1 month ago #35929 by MCImes
Replied by MCImes on topic Which race distance for first race?
Ditto to rob. If you aren't used to 10k paddles, a 10k race probably won't be enjoyable and the short course would be a good starting point.

If you are used to paddling close to 10k, personally I like like that length a lot. Its a common distance that comes out to about an hour of paddling. After that point, very little changes in the finishing order, and around 17k I curse the remaining distance. 

So it depends on your typical training.  Choose the course closest to your typical distance and decide how you feel from there. 

Either way, have a good time!

More