× Tips and techniques for getting the most out of surfskiing.

Fit.. Questions on how.

More
10 years 10 months ago #16953 by Newbflat
So I'm thinking about fitting my boat for a bit more control. My problem is that I have never done this before. Being new to skis I have been spending time in the ski before starting any mods. I have years of white water kayaking and have fit out dozens of whiter water boats but the goals there are very different.

Have a Stellar SR and when I'm out in chop I feel a bit loose. The boat moves around under my ample posterior more than I would like. Also the bucket is big so that adds to the sense of looseness. I wish I had more contact points making the boat more a part of me. Part of this is coming from whitewater where I'm locked in and the boat becomes 'one' with the paddler. I use to fit out my boat so that I could hang up side down from two saw horses and not fall out of the boat. From that perspective sitting in a ski feels very vulnerable.

So, what can and should I do to make the ski more a part of me but not interfere with efficient paddling and remounting. Are there rules of thumb, recommendations, general guidelines to follow? Points of contact, places to avoid? I'm just trying to get a discussion going about boat fitting. When people Started fitting out white water kayaks better it transformed boat controls. When I look around at people in there surfskis, very flew people have any fitting at all. I can't help but think that nearly everyone could benefit some degree by a better fit.

For me, better control in cross chop would be appreciated as well as down wind. I realize that it's a surfski and not a kayak but yesterday as I was paddling a mini downwinder with confused chop, and I couldn't help but want more control. The boat moved and rocked a bit to much under me for comfort.

Oh... And any pointers on past discussions appreciated.

Bill..

FENN Bluefin S
FENN Swordfish S carbon hybrid
Epic V8 double gen 2