× Tips and techniques for getting the most out of surfskiing.

Trying to decide on the next step.

More
3 years 9 months ago #36732 by 2863974017034980@facebook
Hi All,
I am new to paddling and have been reading the forum regularly to get advice and information on a variety of things. So first off thank you all for sharing some much good info. 

I'm 45, been active all my life, love anything in the water. I am part of a Surf Life Saving club in Sydney but have not done much int the way of paddling. I sat on a Surf Ski for the first time about 5 months ago when I took an introduction lesson. By the end of the lesson I was paddling a V10 sport on flat water relatively comfortably. The reason for getting into a V10 sport so quickly was more a question of available craft rather than anything else.  I did paddle this once a week for about 8 weeks and was getting increasingly comfortable on flat water. The area I was paddling gets some swell in through the heads on a large swell and when this happened I did find myself swimming a bit. 

I was fortunate that someone from the Surf Life Saving club had a Fenn Swordfish they let me borrow. I have been paddling that 2 to 3 times a a week covering 7 to 14km a session for the last couple of months and have had another lesson to improve my stroke, which is coming along. 

At the moment, on flat water I am solid. I can move the Swordfish well with decent pace. I have had a number of sessions in high winds (excess of 25km/hr) in both bays and on a local lake that was fairly choppy and handled it well with little to no need to practice remounting. 

But.. venturing off shore in a swell that is getting reflection off the land and things get tippy.