× Tips and techniques for getting the most out of surfskiing.

Bad techniques or habits

More
2 years 10 months ago #38432 by John Ski
I'm relatively new to paddling, so I really don't know what are good or bad habits.  I wanted to keep a look out before I develop them.  I've been watching the videos by Oscar and Ivan and wondering if the more experienced paddlers can give other examples of bad techniques?  So far I've come up with:

Don't paddle past your hips, better to finish right about the knees.
Don't paddle fast and crazy, slow steady deliberate strokes improves efficiency.
Don't forget to use leg drive.  Every time I use leg drive I noticed and increase in speed immediately.

When I engage my core on a left stroke, I would push the paddle away, making the boat veer right.  I think my muscles are weak so instead of pushing down on the stroke, I'm pushing away.  To fix this, I started just paddling on the single side and this has helped improve.

Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 years 10 months ago #38449 by waverider
Replied by waverider on topic Bad techniques or habits
Leave the gps at home. You have to learn to keep your head up so your airway is clear, breathe in through your nose and out your mouth, otherwise you run out of breath and get a dry mouth. It also allows you to keep an eye on the symmetry of your top hand. It is too easy to develop the head down slouch which messes your breathing and you dont notice the sloppy top hand, which is where the wheels start falling off when it becomes erratic, when you keep staring at the gps on your footstrap. GPS also temps you to chase speed before technique and you end up with a splash and dash style. Focusing on a stable distant horizon is also far better than the wobbly hull. You would also be surprise how much you can drift off course with your head down. You are aiming for best technique not PB top speeds, that comes later