× Tips and techniques for getting the most out of surfskiing.

How to avoid broaching?

More
12 years 10 months ago #7058 by zachhandler
Looking for some technique advice. I'm new to surfski (9 months) but have paddled a sprint boat for years. I'm trying to figure out how to avoid broaching when surfing on the diagonal. I am 1500 miles inland, so the only waves we have are are short steep wind waves, usually 2 - 4 feet (trough to crest) though occasionally they've been as big as 6 - 8 feet. I'm in a v12 with the standard rudder. If i surf straight down the face i go straight, but just bury the bow. If i try to surf at an angle occasionally I scoot along nicely. but more often I get turned too far sideways and get tipped, or just fall off the wave and get wallowed with a full bucket.

Any advice would be much appreciated, and I'm sure I'm not the only one reading here that needs the help!

FYI I just got a surf rudder but have yet to install it.

Current Skis: Epic v10 g3, NK 670 double, NK exrcize, Kai Wa’a Vega, Carbonology Feather, Think Jet, Knysna Sonic X
Former Skis: Epic V12 g2, Epic V12 g1, Epic v10 double, Nelo 550 g2, Fenn Elite S, Custom Kayaks Synergy

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 10 months ago #7059 by [email protected]
The surf rudder will help.

The key though is speed; if you're going too slow, there's not much you can do to prevent the broach. The faster you're going, the more the rudder will bite.

Oscar Chalupsky always talks about "explosive strokes" to get on a run. What I think he means is that in a couple of strokes he gets up to speed and then has greater control.

Of course it's quite tricky to balance and get the strokes in while you're rocking at the top of the wave... but it comes with practice!

Rob

Currently Fenn Swordfish S, Epic V10 Double.