Re: Ocean racing and ICF regulations

More
16 years 2 months ago #1809 by stuartknaggs
Well Ritchie, you bring up a few points that I's like to try answer, bearing in mind that I'm no ICF expert.

First, nobody at ICF wants to "take control" of the sport. The ICF is made up of sports enthusiasts from different disciplines that have come together to establish international norms for the different disciplines. By establishing an Ocean Racing discipline, they have acknowledged the desire from some for international standardisation.

Secondly, as I have previously said, the only design parameter at the moment is that the ski is over 4m - hardly stifling design. Fact is that not all boats are safe or seaworthy in all conditions. There have been several instances in the past 2 years where boats have split and sunk without having hit anything harder than the bottom of a wave.

Greg Barton is very well acquainted with the ICF from his flatwater racing days. He knows how the structure works and what advantages an international organisation offers to the growth of a sport. He mentioned that he is worried about oppressive regulations as we all should be - but the easiest way to avoid that is to contribute.

As far as membership of the ICF is concerned, nobody is forcing anyone to join. If your club or group of paddlers wants to do their thing without becoming members of your national federation, then carry on. I just know that way easier to get funding for development, national championships, international travel for teams etc once you are affiliated to the national body who recognises the sport.