water inside the surfski

More
8 years 7 months ago #24471 by percularis
Hi everyone,

I am a total beginner. so I hope my question is not too foolish.
I have just recently bought my first surfski which is already used and a bit damaged. but it still works.

However while testing it, i've forgotten to put the plug in its place and fell of course into the water. consequently there is still some water inside of it. I have heard that water remaining inside it is not the best, is it? but how can I remove it completely? By turning it upside down I have already removed quite a lot, but there is still about a litre or two inside of it. Does this matter?

i hope there is somebody who can help me ;)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 7 months ago #24475 by Fath2o
Replied by Fath2o on topic water inside the surfski
Having a liter or two of water is not good, but the water will not hurt your boat. Get all the water out best you can. You should be able to get all but a tablespoon or two out of the drain hole by manipulating the ski on saw horses so the water runs to the drain. Set it in the sun for a day or two upright with the plug out to dry out. Repair any leaks/damage. I'm sure there are many other opinions.

More
8 years 7 months ago #24477 by chappy
Replied by chappy on topic water inside the surfski
I would remove it from the inside of the ski as soon as possible. Depending on the construction, the inner layer of the ski may absorb water and consequently your surfski may become permanently heavier.

I would attempt to empty the ski, then leave to rest for 5min so that the water flows out of cracks etc. and try agin. I would repeat this many times until, as mentioned before, you only have a few drops left.

Another tip is, when you transport your boat on your car roof, to fasten it to the carrier racks upside-down and leave the bung hole unplugged. Going over bumps, hills etc. Will hep remove all water.

Craig

More