Who makes the largest carbon fiber paddle, and is it something I need?

More
2 years 6 months ago #38949 by kayakingguy
Was wondering who makes the largest surface-area carbon fiber paddle on the market?

I'm 6', around 210 lbs, with a very strong back/core from gymnastics. My pulling strength/power is very high (had an unofficial world record in weighted pullups at one point), but my overallskill is mediocre and I'm a beginner in surf skis.

I'm paddling a V8 but may move to faster skis in the future, and want a paddle that I'll never outgrow.  I do want to practice some sprint paddling on the off chance I get more into advanced skis. I also don't care about wind resistance.

SHOULD I get a big surface area paddle, and why or why not?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 years 6 months ago #38951 by tve
I'm interested in a related question, which is how can one tell whether one should upgrade to a larger paddle size?

The thing I would tell you is that you can increase the force exerted by the paddle by lengthening the shaft (and moving the hands in from the paddle accordingly). So if you start with a smaller paddle you can increase it's lever. Reducing the lever of a large paddle is more limited in my experience because once your hands reach the paddle the adjustment is over.

Another thing to consider are your shoulders. Some paddlers, me included, have a tendency to raise the shoulders, which can easily cause injury. I have to remind myself frequently about dropping the shoulders. Bigger paddles make the risk of injury worse. You may want to make sure you have your stroke down very well before looking at huge paddles ;-).

Just my 2c :-)

More
2 years 6 months ago #38952 by mrcharly
Hmm. Lisa Carrington, who weighs 65kg but cranks out 30 pullups with an added 20kg weight for a warmup uses the same sized blades as myself (gamma medium minus). My blades are too big for surfski for me (they work for marathon K1).