garmin forerunner 305

More
14 years 8 months ago #3577 by nickovalentino
I am in the market for a GPS. What have peoples experiences been with the Forerunner 305? Particularly waterproofness. I've heard mixed stories. Also the Forerunner 310XT; anyone have any experience with that one. Cheers. Nick Valentine. Sydney

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 8 months ago #3578 by Zebra
Replied by Zebra on topic Re:garmin forerunner 305
I've just ordered a 310XT, should be here next week,

But more to the point, I think Rob will be reviewing one in the next month or so on the website.

Cheers

More
14 years 8 months ago #3583 by garykroukamp
You can get quite good deals on the 305 nowadays

More
14 years 7 months ago #3627 by philipnye
Replied by philipnye on topic Re:garmin forerunner 305
I've been using a Garmin etrex Vista CX for several years. I made up a mounting bracket which is held in place by the elastics at the front of the footwell (I also tie it on with a lanyard as a secondary precaution).

This is an older model than the forerunners but I find a stead deck mounting much more useful than a wrist mount as I can keep my eye on it continuously without disrupting my stroke.

The manufacturer claims waterproof to 1m for 30 mins which is more splash-proof than true waterproofing - it has been on my boat during quite a few capsizes. Over time the USB connector, which has a simple rubber cover, has gradually got less reliable to the point that it barely works at all now and I need to look into replacing it. Apart from this there has been no apparent damage.

This model gives lots of flexibility over the info which is displayed. I usually only use speed, distance and time, and like to download tracklogs. But I also occasionally use simple waypoints and bearings if crossing open water where it is hard to make out the destination visually.

More
14 years 7 months ago #3628 by MFB
Replied by MFB on topic Re:garmin forerunner 305