Recovery time and seeing benefits

More
4 years 10 months ago #34337 by mrcharly
(info - age, early 50s,  average athletic ability).
I'm trying to build my speed and stamina (ability to sustain speed). 
Hence taking training more seriously. 
So this week that has been:
Mon 6 x 4 min intervals, 1min rest
Wed 20 x 2min intervals, 1min rest
Thurs 10.5km time trial
Sat or sun (planned) 21km steady paddle, aiming for about 2hr 15min (it is shallow water with portages, so speed is kept down a bit).

On thursday I was very tired during the time trial. Still fighting off lingering chest infection so I couldn't breath deeply. Time was a little disappointing. 
How long to recover from hard sessions? I'm assuming 48hrs
How long before I should see benefits (improved speed and stamina)? 1 week? 2?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 10 months ago - 4 years 10 months ago #34339 by zachhandler
I am not an expert in training. I have been competing in endurance sports (with lots of interval workouts) for the past 30 years so my opinion is based on having been exposed to a lot of different coaches and training plans, as well as my own personal experience. I am sure others will have different takes on this. Also remember that everyone's body is different, and what works for one athlete may not work for another. Anyway here are my thoughts: