Interval training, good or bad?

More
4 years 8 months ago #34936 by waverider
Interval training is effective in most sports. Is it counter productive if it becomes a major part of paddle training?

As well as fitness, technique is a major part of paddling. Improving your technique is about fine tuning your "default" style that you do instinctively without having to thinking. Can interval training work against this? If you are going flat out technique starts to get fuzzy, especially if you are just a beginner, then between bursts the temptation is to back right off and not really focus about keeping everything sharp as this is your "rest" period. Ergo you are rarely in that sweet spot where everything is coming together just right.

Not saying there is no place for it, but it maybe shouldn't be a major focus. I'm just a beginner so not professing to be an expert at this just looking for guidance for the most effective approach.

At the moment I build my speed until it starts getting sloppy, then I stop and restart rather than push on and let it all start to unravel

Any opinions?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 8 months ago #34937 by SpaceSputnik
I am also pretty green, but so far my experience is that slow and methodical technique work goes well with trying it in action. I.e. starting slow to make sure everything is where it's supposed to be and gradually racheting it up to a level when you actually putting power down but without a significant technique breakdown. Since I always concentrate on where things are it seems to help internalize it since I get more distinct sensation of how the power is produced.
When things get wonky I tell myself to back off a bit and when it feels steady and nice I load up again. I feel that I am beginning to cruise faster that way.