Why am I slow? My experiences of late...

More
4 years 4 months ago #35518 by PharmGeek
So, I found surfski as an inland South East US paddled (middle of Alabama) a few years back and piddled around mostly paddling a dozen days a year or so working on technique mostly (which often we rely on the webs to teach us in the US, and I had a few web virtual lessons from a web coach)...and that got me so far as far as seeing my speeds increase. 

2019 was my first foray into the actual racing and “serious training” - and before this I’ve never done a sport in my life and knew not what “fitness” meant on the whole. 

So so I hired a pro paddler to give me tips, issue me a schedule of workouts including details of how often, what intensities, etc etc and off I went.

The intent of my post in this case is to reflect on the question of “why I was slow” 8 months ago when I started training...and I’ve seen this subject play out online among paddling fb friends, and on this forum a bit. The general answer is of course some combination of technique, balance, experience, and fitness. 

In my specific case, I had the basics of the stroke down I felt but wondered if my growth would be more due to lack of fitness or some tweak in stroke that is choking off my speed.

in my case - I feel more certain that the biggest ratelimiting factor was a crap engine - ie lack of fitness.