Intensity - HR or speed?

More
14 years 11 months ago #3273 by postal256
When doing your workouts, do you prefer to use % of max HR or % of max speed? I like to program intervals into my Forerunner GPS, and often find good interval workouts online with percentages for intensity. Since your speed can vary greatly, even on flatwater (into wind, with wind, etc), do you use HR? And if maxHR, do you use your theoretical max HR, your maxHR found by running, or your maxHR found by paddling (which is what I've been doing..)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 11 months ago #3274 by ndewet
Replied by ndewet on topic Re:Intensity - HR or speed?
I'm no expert, and like you would love to know how the top guys train with their Garmins. What I do is simply to do intervals of various types, I tend to just copy what I hear of here on surfski.info for example I read Jeremy Cotter does 4min intervals, so I started doing the same, all I try to do is to improve my maximum ave. speed, 4 min hard, 4 min slow. Lately it has been 500m or 200m sprints, here the goal is of course to beat my best and gradually improve over time (without overdoing it and getting an injury as I now seem to be doing, shoulder is caving in).

About HR, I have pretty much started to ignore it, even though I still strap on my HR monitor on most days, ave. speed improvement is what I gun for. But I'm a mid range paddler, 10km takes me 55min on a good day on flat water, lets see what the 45 min guys say.

More
14 years 11 months ago #3275 by AndrewN
Replied by AndrewN on topic Re:Intensity - HR or speed?
Keep in mind that you can't just do 4 minute intervals. You must have a mix of longer, less intense intervals eg 8 mins as well as dices and the occasional long session on weekends etc.