Unofficial Review of new Stellar SEL

More
8 years 4 months ago #25118 by portmanm
Before I start, some background. I’ve been paddling for 4 years, > 90% in the ocean in varying conditions up to 3-4m swell and 30-40 knots, paddle about 50km per week and do regular racings – I class myself as an intermediate paddler with aspirations. Six foot, 47 years young and about 90kg.

For the last 2 years, I’ve paddled an Epic V10 Elite (2nd gen) – great boat for me. Other boats I’ve paddled are Epic V12, V10S (old & new gen), V8 (old & new gen) and 10L (new gen) plus small stints in Vajda Hawx 46, Think Ion and Fenn Swordfish (old gen). I’ve had the opportunity to spend lots of time in Stellar boats over the past 12 months – SEI (my wife’s), SES (new and old gen), S2E and now Stellar Australia has lent me the new SEL (Advantage layup) to demo.

Over the past week I’ve paddled over 50km in the Stellar SEL in varying conditions – flat, confused water, strong head wind, chop and downwind (<2m swell, <20 knots) – those who have been paddling with me stated I seem more comfortable and a little quicker than my regular Epic – maybe I’m in a good head space too, that always helps.

Things I like for me

- Picks up runs easily, small and large bumps, well-trimmed, I can push it over the run when I need to
- Stable for me, I was quite surprised as this boat is skinnier than my current ski. It’s definitely between SEI and SES in stability, the Advantage layup might be assisting too – be interested to test Excel layup as it might be a little more flighty
- Slices through the chop
- Seat is comfortable for me (others that have tried, some get numb bum, others are fine but you get that across all skis)
- Dual venturi’s drain well
- Thought the drink bottle location might get in the way of the leash point and inhibit leg movement but it was ok