Stellar SR excel vs SEI advantage vs SEI excel

More
7 years 7 months ago #26938 by PJAW
I've been paddling for about 3 months. Spent 1 month in a V8 then moved onto at V10S black tip 1G. Found that when it was rough (>20knts) I would intermittently fall out of the V10S and found it hard to put power down due to stability. Recently tried the SR 2G advantage in mild chop. Loved the boat, felt good, easy to get on runners, just a bit wide in the seat (I would have to pad it out). Then tried the SEI advantage in >20knts, 1.5 m of swell. Still felt reasonably stable, occasionally having to catch myself but was having a heap of fun. Didn't fall out. I really liked the feel of these stellar boats and want to get one. Trying to make a decision on an SR excel or an SEI (model to be decided). Never got to compare the two boats in the rough, won't be possible to have both boats out at the same time. I'm inclined to get an SEI as thought that although a little above my skill level it gives me something to grow into. Would prefer the lighter excel layup for ease of carrying the 500m (esp post paddle) and some improved performance. However, read some reviews saying that for reasons of less flex (more than weight) they are more unstable. worried that moving into the SEI excel may be above my skill level. Don't have access to try one out.

I really love the downwind runs. I don't want a ski if I can't do this with it, even if it's faster on the flat water.

Do people think the excel layup will be significantly more unstable for me as a beginner paddler? Am I best going the SR 2G first (though I fear growing out of it too soon).

I appreciate the cost differences. I'm prepared to pay the extra money for what I want.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 7 months ago #26940 by Flowmaster