Best option for new paddler's first boat: V8 or V8 pro

More
3 years 7 months ago #37346 by Papa Surf
Hello,

I am new to the sport and about to buy a first boat. I have tried the Epic V8 and the V8 Pro.  I feel completely stable in the V8. After two times in the V8 pro, I am beginning to apply foot pressure and feel somewhat stable in chop and very stable on flat water. I can remount the V8 Pro. I do a lot of small dinghy sailing (laser) and ocean sculling, so I am used to balancing on the water and reading waves.  I plan to paddle on the ocean in New England, where we get a lot of short chop.

My question is whether the V8 Pro is typically too much for a new paddler. I know it all depends on the person's athletic ability. Mine is average. Can I grow into a first boat (V8 Pro) or should I start in something that feels totally stable (V8)? I don't mind getting wet but wonder if starting in a more challenging boat might lead to bad habits in the stroke. On the other hand, I don't want to buy a boat that I outgrow too quickly.  That's the choice as I see it, but please beg to differ if you think that's a false choice.

Thank you for any opinions offered.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 7 months ago #37347 by zachhandler
You never outgrow a v8. I use that line a lot but its true, at least for downwind.  I can paddle any ski in any conditions but my fastest downwind ever was in a V8. Boyan Zlatarev, arguably the world’s best downwind instructor and a true master of downwind does everything in a v8. Look up some of his videos. When he taught surfski to  Ivan Lawler, multiple time world champion marathon kayak racer and accomplished instructor in his own right, he put him in a v8.