Mentor, Xt or Horizon for beginners ?

More
14 years 5 months ago #3807 by Personne
Hi all,
I am new to surf ski. I have been trying the mentor for about 10 hours now and I am about to quit or break my paddle against a coconut tree every time I go out (my performance being 5 minutes witout falling in no wave condition, I do have clean sinuses now though).
Until now I paddled a Paddleyak solo tourer for 2 years. I am 1m86 and 110 kg.

I have a decision to make. I can buy a fenn XT (I have tried it and felt stable but heavy), buy a Horizon (can't try it because I am in the carribean) or lower my mentor seat (cheapest solution).

What do you think ?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 5 months ago #3810 by jbrings
Have you considered the Honcho Guru? This is also a nice beginner's ski.

• StuartXpat
  • Visitor
14 years 5 months ago #3811 by StuartXpat
Replied by StuartXpat on topic Re:Mentor, Xt or Horizon for beginners ?
Just blame the bad teacher.:laugh:

I will be lowering the seat on 2 school Mentors this weekend. Maybe borrow the XT for tomorrow and Saturday and then we can see how you get on with the lowered Mentor. The other poster was right - look at other options. Read all other reviews on the site - we can bring any of the South African Boats in January and their prices are all more or less the same.

More
14 years 5 months ago #3812 by YBA/Jim Murray
If you are learning on your own, a suggestion would be for you to spend $25 for a DVD made by Dawid Mocke and sold on this site. It will probably save a lot of frustration.
Jim

More
14 years 5 months ago #3813 by ckmacgyver