Paddle Grip

More
12 years 3 weeks ago - 12 years 3 weeks ago #10447 by JonathanC
Paddle Grip was created by JonathanC
Hi all, I've been paddling for about 6 months in an Epic V10Sport and have a Bracsa IV paddle. The paddle has shiny heat-shrink material under both hands and a nub under the grip on the right hand. My first boat, and getting to the stage of doing upwind/downwind runs in 15 to 20 knots and rough water and only occasionally falling in.

Finding the paddle grip super slippery and very tiring, tried hand cleaner, sand rubs etc but I know I'm gripping too tight so thinking about cutting the shiny stuff off and going for insulation tape.

The locating nub under the grip on the right hand...do I need it? I find that when I'm paddling on the left side my wrist is slightly cocked down (hand up), if I try to straighten the right wrist, the angle of the LHS blade is wrong. Not sure if I took off the locating nub whether the paddle would just 'self orient' in my right hand when I start paddling.

Would welcome any advice. Thanks, Jonathan

Whoops - sorry, think I posted in the wrong area :unsure:
Last edit: 12 years 3 weeks ago by JonathanC.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 3 weeks ago - 12 years 3 weeks ago #10449 by superted
Replied by superted on topic Re: Paddle Grip
I use surfboard wax for my "slippery" paddles. You might miss the locator if you remove it. Try someone elses round shaft paddle without a locator first.
Last edit: 12 years 3 weeks ago by superted.

• holonalu
  • Visitor
12 years 3 weeks ago #10451 by holonalu
Replied by holonalu on topic Re: Paddle Grip
I've got the same paddle, without the indicator. I tried some tennis racquet grip for a while, but now I just rough the shaft up with a little sand before going out. My only problem after about 4 miles in semi rough water is my grip hand going a little numb.

Aloha from Maui

More
12 years 3 weeks ago #10457 by Kayaker Greg