Another Stability Question

More
11 years 6 months ago #13494 by drjay9051
I have had my EpicV10 Sport for a couple of months now. I am very new to this. Prior to surf ski I paddled 18 ft sea kayak for a month or so.
To this point I have used the Epic on a local lake. Like all newbies I had serious stability issues. After a week or so i questioned my purchase and seriously considered selling the ski and sticking to the kayak. I am glad I persisted. Now I am pretty comfortable in flat and calm conditions.. The milestone for me was being able to paddle across the lake and back without a swim!

Yes,it was only 2 miles total but for me a real accomplishment for a 58 year old overweight guy.

Here is my current problem: I went out on the lake this weekend and it was a bit breezy. I had no problem going upwind or downwind but the minute the wind was abeam when I turned I was VERY unstable. I'm not talking about a 20kt wind just enough of a wind to produce a bit of chop. How do I deal with this? is it just a matter of more time on the ski?

The other thing is I actually felt more stable going upwind as opposed to downwind, is this an unusual situation.

I will no longer have lake access so I'll be moving into the Gulf of Mexico. For sure I'll encounter wind and chop so aside from time in the ski, Swiss ball and weight loss any other hints?

Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 6 months ago #13495 by Rightarmbad
From my experience, the worst conditions for stability are exactly what you have described.
I find that the ocean is much easier than the local broadwater where there are many boat wakes or short sharp wind waves coming from the side.

As you have found, going upwind is always quite stable and going downwind can feel a little wobbly, especially on the sport as the wide rear tends to rise up quite high and the boat takes on a very nose down attitude.

Don't worry, time in the boat will cure all.