Too soon for a second ski ??

More
11 years 5 months ago #13919 by drjay9051
I have only been on surf ski for about 2 months. Epic V10 Sport (wide bucket).

As I am sure I'm addicted I'm considering a second ski. My choices are limited due to wide hips. The narrow bucket V10 Sport pinched my hips. Reason for second ski is to just have a variety in feel when I paddle.I believe all skis feel a bit different so I thought that a different ski may be an aid to improvement. Am I making a mistake? I suppose one could argue that I am a beginner so why spend the money.

2 questions:

1. Should I wait on the second ski till I'm more proficient?
2. If not too soon for a second ski i am considering the following:
either an older model Fenn XT with I believe has dual footwells or a Fenn Tarpon spec ski.

I know the Tarpon weighs a ton but I like the look of the hammerhead and I'm thinking it would be pretty stable for me. Don't know if it is more or less stable than the XT.

As I understand it the Tarpon is made for surf so if I venture into the ocean I need not be as concerned as I would be with my Kevlar Epic. Of course at my level a trip into the surf may be short lived.

I believe the above skis both have a wide bucket. Both have similar dimensions so how do they compare performance wise?

I'm a bit conflicted here and appreciate any opinions from experienced paddlers.

Thanks

Drjay

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 5 months ago #13920 by Kayaker Greg
My thoughts are, have you put any money into getting some technical assistance with your paddling technique? If you have, go ahead, get yourself another ski, if you haven't, get your priority's sorted and get some coaching, its money well spent.
The following user(s) said Thank You: drjay9051

More
11 years 5 months ago #13921 by insalt