Teardrop vs parallel edge wing for flatwater

More
10 years 10 months ago #16499 by Beluge
Dear all,

Hello - I'm new to this board. I paddle on flatwater exclusively but have not been able to find an online community of flatwater kayakers.

I've been using a Bracsa IV teardrop paddle for the past several years and am currently looking to buy a new paddle. At first I just wanted to increase my blade size (to a Bracsa I) but after reading the catalogue I'm not so sure. Brand is irrelevant for me because Bracsa is the only paddle I can find easily without having to wait months for delivery.

My main question is: what are the differences between a parallel edge blade and a teardrop? I have only had experience with the traditional teardrop (Bracsa IV) and the "hybrid" (Bracsa IX, which was not aggressive enough with acceleration for my taste). I am open to buying a parallel edge (Bracsa III) or extreme teardrop (Bracsa VI).

Again, disregarding different brands, I would like to know the profiles of the different paddle shapes, specifically for distances of 1000m and below.

Cheers!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 10 months ago #16506 by Stew
Different strokes for different folks. Everyone is different in terms of strength, technique, boat type etc etc. All gets down to what you like the feel of, and what works for you. Personally, I use parallel blades, and absolutely love them. I find the blade more balanced in the water, and in choppy water, where technique can be compromised, they have a more solid feel for me. I've found with tear drops that if you miss the catch, the rest of the stroke just spins.

However, the extreme tear drop like the Jantex Gamma which came from WWR has a very solid following in ocean racing now, and several brands make copies of these shapes which are available all over the world.

More
10 years 10 months ago #16522 by kayakchampeen
In a nutshell: