Think Ion Downunder

More
10 years 11 months ago #16699 by Thinking
Think Ion Downunder was created by Thinking
I'm pretty much just a Joe Average surf ski paddler, same as the majority of you out there. I don't want to fluff up anything as being the next best thing. I also appreciate anyone just being out there on a surf ski paddling and linking up with paddling mates. Whether you paddle a Fenn, Epic, Think or Stellar or any of the other brands out there plying there craft, it's all good with me.

I've been paddling the Think skis for the last 5 years, I stopped flip flopping between brands because I found the seats and set up's on these skis perfect for me personally, so I'm loyal and stick with them. Every ski has it's merits and trash talking brand vs brand just doesn't help anyone, especially for many who simply want to buy a ski that suits them, and want to make a balanced decision when buying.
All I say to people is to try before you buy, check out the construction of each ski across the board and work out what best suits you the paddler, can't be fairer than that.

I'm based in Wellington, N.Z. I've just spent the early part of the week (over the ditch as we call it) in Sydney to check out the new Think Ion and hooked up with "The go to Guy" Downunder Stew O'Regan at Think Kayaks Australia.

Below are just some basic observations:
The two key points of the ski are that it has some "real rocker" in it and volume in both the front, and back of the ski, sitting next to either the Uno Max the shapes become very obvious to the eye.

The front of the ski has more volume (as in height wise) it is quite noticeable against the Uno Max and the Evo 2.

Hull wise at the front, it is much like the Uno Max nose/frontage but slightly chunkier, but don't be fooled by any of the volume or the fact that the rocker may look excessive next to the Uno Max, on the water, like any ski, paddling it is where we are best able to judge what this ski will do for us personally.