Fitness? Surfski or Ourtigger canoe?

More
9 years 11 months ago #20674 by pierreb
Out of those who have experience with both, which one is best for general fitness? For strength, power, muscular conditioning? Paddling a surfski or an OC1?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 11 months ago #20675 by Sandy
Of course you are aware that this is SURFSKI.INFO..... :woohoo:

More
9 years 11 months ago #20676 by steveburge
I think outrigger. Due to stability you can load up a stroke better. I am looking at crosstraining back into outrigger for that reason.

• Stanton
  • Visitor
9 years 11 months ago #20680 by Stanton
Replied by Stanton on topic Fitness? Surfski or Ourtigger canoe?
I'm not sure that I'm an expert on much. Buuuuut, I may be close to an expert on this topic as much as I have fretted about it lately. I paddle both. I have been primarily an OC paddler the last few years. During those years I have also owned a V8 that I had paddled sporadically and my wife has now claimed it. After several experiences the past few months based on long distance OC paddles and sore left hip and leg I decided it may be time to get serious about a surfski. Love the stability of the OC and would agree with the OP that because of the stability offered by the ama, you can really crank on the paddle. But it also promotes bad habits (for me) that stem from cheating the ama. You just naturally load up the left side of your body. A few weeks ago I bought a new V10Sport. Love it. Today, I paddled it in a large race here in the Tampa Bay Area. 10 miler. If it wasn't for the balance issue it would really be awesome. Much more balanced body effort. Everything is balanced left to right. No sore back. No numb leg. No pinched hip. If I just didn't go swimming so much. The Sport has crazy good secondary stability but when you pass it by a mm, you're gone. No such issue in the OC.