Balance issues or just age catching up?

More
9 years 10 months ago #20805 by bursty
I have been paddling for over 10 years. Never a drama with falling out of my ski. I Had a Fenn elite for the last 5 yrs, fell off once in a burly s/east chop soon after I bought it but that was only because the cable screw came loose and I didn't have any control over steering it , so plop out I went when the screw slipped down the cable. Seriously struggled to get back that time from 500 meters out. Since then , 4 yrs since never fell out at all. Paddle twice a week every week since, sometimes in rough water, decent chop and large side swell. Until recently I fell out through no apparent reason and really struggled to get back on. The following week I fell out three times in the bridge to beach paddle. I thought I must be getting too old for this level of ski so I sold the elite and bought a swordfish. All was good until yesterday I fell out from on only from small side swell from a passing boat on calm water. Im now 58. Am I losing it or what's going on. Do we get more unbalanced as we get older?, or as we tire during paddles. Is it a confidence thing? I only worry because I love paddling as a fitness exercise and want to keep going until Im 85. I love downwind runners, never want to give it up, but its getting scary. Not the falling out bit but trying to get back in. I can't keep getting back in because after the first time, that's it I've little strength to do it again. Also why is it more unstable paddling on really shiny glassy water, than on water with a slight wind chop on it?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 10 months ago #20807 by Ranga
Something is not adding up!
Yes I had the same problem, but it was not that pronounced and sudden. I shifted from a V12 to a V10 Sport and had a wonderful time on the Sport. I then when to up the new V10 which was more unstable than the Sport but manageable for me.