Does the Fenn Mako XT always turn into waves???

More
9 years 8 months ago - 9 years 8 months ago #21123 by wrybread
I'm new to surfskis but an experienced surf kayaker, both on sea kayaks and whitewater boats. I recently picked up a Fenn Mako XT used, I think its about 10 years old (it has separations for your legs near the pedals, which I'm told is the old design). I love the boat on flat water and have no problem balancing on it, but when surfing it always turns into the wave the moment I catch it.

It does this on a variety of waves, from tiny 1 foot pulses to 5 foot gently breaking waves.

I've paddled lots of kayaks that do this, but this does it to a ridiculous extreme, and I don't seem to be able to rudder (with paddle or feet) out of it. And even if I start on the wave perfectly straight and balanced, it still turns right away. Frustrating.

I'm fine with a bit of a learning curve, but I want to hear someone tell me that surfing breaking ocean waves is, in fact, possible with this boat? Or is this a known issue?

Thanks for any advice.
Last edit: 9 years 8 months ago by wrybread.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 8 months ago #21124 by Love2ski
The xt is a fun downwind ski. I had one for a while and really enjoyed the stability downwind. It is short so perhaps that impacts on how much it rounds up. However it shouldn't be rounding up as you described. Unless you are on breaking waves in which case all skis will want to round up.

More
9 years 8 months ago #21125 by coastbouy