nordic kayaks squall

More
9 years 6 months ago #22047 by topswimmer
As you can guess from my user name I'm new to the black art of surfski'ing. I was hoping to get feedback from anyone out there who paddles a Nordic kayaks squall!
I bought my 1st ski in Oct 2013 a epicv8 in club spec as a way to keep fit after continual knee injuries acquired during 20 years of triathlon.
I was persuaded to upgrade after about 9 months to "something a bit faster" or should that be "a lot tip pier".
River & lake use in the squall is fine but on the sea especially going across any kind of swell I find it very difficult to keep my balance. If have recently started to use a Swiss ball to hopefully improve my balance.
I've briefly paddled a V10sport & found it more stable than my squall,also paddled a fenn blue Finn which felt as stable as the V8!
Have I made the step up too soon? Any advice/comments gratefully accepted.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 6 months ago #22049 by portmanm
Replied by portmanm on topic nordic kayaks squall
Look for a ski you're most comfortable in for a large cross section of conditions you plan to paddle in unless you can afford to buy 2 skis :-)

I used to paddle an Epic V12 but found it too tippy in mixed conditions or 3-4m swell. Dropped back to a new Epic V10 as I predominately paddle 50-60km per week open ocean & can now comfortable paddle in most conditions but have sacrificed a little bit of speed on the flat.

Other skis you might want to test:

Think Evo II
Vajda Hawx 46
FENN Swordfish
Stellar SEI
Epic new V10 (or V10L if you're under 80kgs)

Goodluck

Bio
- 90kg, 183cm, paddling 90+% in ocean conditions for 5 years. Prefer downwind.
- Epic V12 1G, V10 1G/2G, V10 Sport, V8 & V8 Pro
- Stellar SEI 1G/2G, SES 1G/2G, SEL 2G, SR 2G & S2E
- Vadja Hawx 43/46/52
- Think Evo II 2G, Ion 1G
- Fenn Elite S, Swordfish S
- Nelo 560M

More
9 years 6 months ago #22051 by topswimmer