Cold weather surfski top

More
5 years 7 months ago #32649 by Epicpaddler
With the weather getting cooler here in the Northeast US, looking at getting a new surfski paddling top. Maybe something to go over my 3/4mm farmer john wetsuit. Something that is good for cool/cold weather that breathes well. Anyone have experience with the options from Vaikobi in the Vcold series?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 7 months ago #32659 by TomVW
Replied by TomVW on topic Cold weather surfski top
I have no experience with the Vaikobi Vcold top (only the pants, which I find itchy, and do not wear anymore).

Anyway, in our mild Belgian winter with air temperatures around freezing p[point and water between 4 and 7C, my paddling outfit consists of:
Flatwater (where I don't expect immersion):
- 3mm neoprene booties with waterproof socks underneath
- Hiko Lars paddling pants (PU outer layer with fleece inner layer)
- thermal long sleeve top (Palm Tsangpo)
- Kokatat paddling jacket

For sea paddling:
- 3mm neoprene booties with waterproof socks underneath
- 3mm neoprene farmer john
- thermal long sleeve top (Palm Tsangpo)
- Palm Surge drytop (paying extra care to fastening the lower velcro against water ingress)

I find that the outfit above keeps me warm enough and not too sweaty. It is not completely dry in case of immersion, but still good enough in case of a quick plunge.

On the other hand, I do not rely on my gear to keep me dry and warm in case of repeated immersion. If the conditions are such that I expect to swim often, I just take my seakayak and rely on a good roll to stay dry.

I am really happy about the Kokatat paddling jacket for workout paddles. Breathes really well and keeps the wind chill away. The wrists are not watertight enough that I would wear it if repeat immersion is expected, though.

More
5 years 7 months ago #32660 by feeny
Replied by feeny on topic Cold weather surfski top