2020 nelo surfskis

More
3 years 6 months ago #37374 by M.v.E.
Replied by M.v.E. on topic 2020 nelo surfskis
Since my last post regarding the new Nelo 550 I had only one opportunity to paddle the ski on the ocean in Downwind conditions. The waves were quite small and I was able to get on the waves with little effort. Due to the superb manouverability of the ski it was easy to link the waves. In this respect the 550 performs better than my previous skis.   
I have to add that I am by no means an expert downwind paddler. So far I have paddled approx. 1000 kilometers with the 550 on a small inland lake trying to chase boat wakes which can also be quite exciting sometimes! The waves here are pretty small but the water can get very choppy due to heavy boat traffic. Nevertheless the boat feels very stable and I haven´t fallen in until now. A few things I don´t like: 1. There is not much room for my size 12 feet. Barefoot in the summer season it´s not a problem but with Neopren boots on it will be really tight. 2. There is no bottle holder and also no room to put a drinking bottle where you can reach it. 3. The leaking DeBrito Bailer! I know we had this issue before on the forum and its not a particular Nelo problem. Apart from these minor issues I am very happy with the overall performance of the ski.

Current Ski: Nelo 550 L
Previous Skis: Stellar SR 1. Gen. / Stellar SEI 1. Gen. / Stellar SR 2. Gen.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 6 months ago #37375 by ccchappell
Replied by ccchappell on topic 2020 nelo surfskis
Hi MVE,
Cool on your 550 experience!   I also have size 12 feet and have been using scuba diving neoprene socks of different thickness (2 and 5mm) for my Nelo and other tight footwell boats.    Find the soft soles let my feet fit fine
H2ODYSSEY Ultra Sock Fin Bootie 

And when real cold, these are super comfortable:
Ripcurl Flashbomb 7mm Round Toe Booties 

Chris

More
3 years 6 months ago #37383 by M.v.E.