Nelo Viper 55 Ski Issue

More
3 years 11 months ago #36628 by Santome
Cheers from Spain! This is Luis, a new and proud member of your comunity. Thank you so much for letting me to be part of it.

I'm quite new in paddling/kayaking. I had for five years a short fiber-glass kayak and two months ago I got an used Nelo Viper 55 Ski to discover the surfski world.
Honestly, I'm glad with the change. But there is a thing that does not allow to have a fully pleasant experience: I have a leak in the hull and it's quite significant (1 liter in one hour in flat waters). The leak is not structural, since the boat has never been damaged, and it is pretty good condition. It has been under yearly maintenance in the Nelo factory (PT) so far.
I think that the water comes into the hull through the rudder, since I can see water draining through the hole when I hang the surfski. I asked the previous owner and several expert paddlers, and they told me that this can be considered "normal". Despite this can be true or not, I'd ask your advice to minimize or repair this issue.
Thank you so much!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 11 months ago - 3 years 11 months ago #36629 by agooding2
Replied by agooding2 on topic Nelo Viper 55 Ski Issue
Is this the Viper 55 Kayak?  If so I have one and there's no leakage, the only water that gets is from splash from paddling and it is not nearly that much.

If it is a ski, is there a bailer?  That could cause leakage if the seal isn't good anymore.

If there is no bailer then you probably need a better seal on your rudder shaft, like a rubber washer.  The factory should be able to sort that out or instruct you how to do that.

-- Andrew

Nelo 550L, Streuer Fejna, Nelo Viper 55
Braca XI 705 EL blade, 17K shaft
Braca XI 675 marathon blade, 19K shaft
Braca IV 670 soft blade, 19K shaft
Last edit: 3 years 11 months ago by agooding2. Reason: Typos
The following user(s) said Thank You: Santome

More