V8 Speed ?

More
11 years 9 months ago #12069 by Mech
V8 Speed ? was created by Mech
Hello.I am new to the sport and have an Epic V8.I really like it and have only been out a couple of times so far.The fastest I have been is 6 mph or 9.6 kph.I know it is a slow boat compared to the rest and I have lots of work on technique and conditioning but was wondering what the top speed would be for an elite paddler?This would be for paddling speed only and not surfing.Sort of a goal to work towards.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 9 months ago - 11 years 9 months ago #12073 by FalllGuy
Replied by FalllGuy on topic Re: V8 Speed ?
Hey Mech, I am also relatively new to the sport and currently paddle a V8. I don't paddle the ocean. All of my paddling is flat-water done in a circular protected bay in New York known as Jamaica Bay. The bay has front and back bays. It has a 25 mile perimeter and for the most part all of my paddles are large circles, so I run into varying conditions along the way. Most times the water has a max chop of about 2 1/2 feet with 1 foot and under the most common.

I like to describe my paddling style as sport-touring. I try to fitness paddle 50 to a high of just under a 100 miles a week. I have owned my V8 for just short of a year.

Before that I, for the most part, paddled a South African fishing ski made by Kaskazi, a 65 pound boat that is 25" x 15'8".

I tried to post a snippet of a few days I recently logged on my Garmin, but can't seem to get them to load.

I haven't downloaded my most recent outings but these numbers should give you some info to use as a guideline.

I'm in my early 50's - 5'9 195. I alternate the use of a Onno Large Sprint Wing and his new blade that is sized in between his Sprint Wing and his Mid-Wing.

Dates 6/5, 6/6, 6/7

On 6/5 I paddled 16.65 miles at an average of 5.1 mph max speed 7.5 mph. (11.49 per mile) Winds were 17mph with gusts just over 20.