v7 for a first surfski

More
8 years 10 months ago #24134 by heckofagator
I'm located in the Tampa Bay area. I first came across Epic at the Florida Cup SUP race about a month ago. Epic has some boats there and I remember thinking "I want one of those".

I've been doing a little reading and found a new, version1 Epic V8 Ultra in the local craigslist, but have held off as I was thinking a used boat might be more in my price range, just to make sure I like the sport.

Just recently I came across the V7 and the price and reviews certainly look nice. The 1' less length would probably be beneficial in the garage and while I have no experience with any surfski, composite or not, the added durability of the v7 sounds nice.

So I suppose my question is - is there any doubt that the v7 would make a great surfski for a first timer? They seem to be hard to find now, but should I get a boat locally so I have the support of a dealer to get me properly introduced to the sport?

Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 10 months ago #24135 by red_pepper
Replied by red_pepper on topic v7 for a first surfski
How much experience do you have paddling kayaks, and what do you want to do with the boat? The V8 would probably give you a little more performance and weigh a bit less, and the durability would not be an issue if you expect to always paddle someplace like Tampa Bay, but I suspect either would be an enjoyable place to begin. If you want to carry something, the V7 has a hatch that could be beneficial.

More
8 years 10 months ago #24136 by heckofagator
Replied by heckofagator on topic v7 for a first surfski
thanks for the reply. I could probably count the number of times I've paddled a kayak on both hands. I'm guessing this would be mostly flatwater fitness paddling, as we don't get many waves in the gulf (I don't think).